Which ways the wind blow’n & what does your heart say?

More than ever I feel a need to make a decision between a life of materialism and a life of minimalism. I know what will bring me the most happiness yet its very hard to break free from consumer driven lifestyles & societal norms. I don’t want to go through life making decisions based upon what other people do or think. That makes me excited, but sometimes a little scared.

Have you ever really thought you wanted something only to realise that when you got it, it actually didn’t change anything. Sure it was novelty for a couple of days, but then its newness wore off and it became like all your other things. It didn’t make you feel more beautiful, better, or ultimately happier. In the past I have done this with clothes. I see beautiful yoga wear and bikinis and this voice in my head tells me I will be happier, more confident, I’ll do more or be more admirable if I was to own them. We can continue to listen to that voice, acquire more things and become more confused.. OR..

We can breathe and give our mind the space to listen to what truly make us happy.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Springtime in Yellowstone.

For me that has never been ‘things’, it’s being outside, connecting with people, moving my body, watching the sunrise, swimming in the ocean, eating fresh colourful food & being open about my journey. And you know what, none of this requires owning anything.

I told myself that when I had a child that this would all have to change. That we would have to buy loads of things & that it would be expensive. Why? Because everyone told me so, and I listened to them. But I’m slowly learning that it doesn’t need to be this way.  My intuition is growing as my child does and really for the first time in my life, I am trusting and honouring it wholeheartedly… and it feels right, and really really good. My child needs time. Time and love. And that’s precisely what I intend on giving her.

13223543_10153534332376053_723972021_o

I shall finish this rambling with something I read earlier today which seemed very fitting:

“Nature loves courage. You make the commitment and nature will respond to that commitment by removing impossible obstacles. Dream the impossible dream and the world will not grind you under, it will lift you up. This is the trick. This is what all these teachers and philosophers who really counted, who really touched the alchemical gold, this is what they understood. This is the shamanic dance in the waterfall. This is how magic is done. By hurling yourself into the abyss and discovering it’s a feather bed.”
Terence McKenna

Jinti

 

 

Leave a Reply

